On the night of March 9th 1921, Millstreet IRA Battalion Column were involved in the burning and destruction of the 16th century Dromagh Castle, which was being prepared for occupation by Auxiliaries.
The castle was previously the seat of the O’Keeffe Clan who ruled the area.
Read about more of the activities at the time.
[read more …] “On this day 1921: Dromagh Castle was burned down”
Traditional thatched cottage Lisnacun is open inside to the public this weekend!
Just a mile off the main Mallow/Killarney road (N72) near St.John’s Church in Dromagh! (see map below)
A beautiful place and a step back in time.
Photos thanks to Tom from TMC Photography.
[read more …] “Traditional Cottage Lisnacun”
Thanks to photographer Clement Carroll sent us these two photos of St.John’s Church, Dromagh where he has admired the lighting & colours for some time. Click on the images above to see them in full size.
Clement can be contacted at: <email>