U16 Hurlers win Duhallow Crown

MILLSTREET were forced to dig deep to overcome Dromtariffe in the Duhallow U16BHC Final played in Banteer.

Two well matched sides saw the closeness of the exchanges compensate and what the game lacked in quality, it made up for on intensity.

Dromtariffe had put their stamp on the game early on through the key contributions of Sean O’Callaghan, Danny Mullane, Darren O’Connor and Pa Murphy. Millstreet answered on stemming the tide with points to Paul Sheehan, Tony Cronin and Paul O’Connor.

Dromtariffe received a needed boost and it surfaced from a goal netted by Murphy for his side to enjoy a 1-5 to 0-6 grip at the break.

Millstreet tightened up considerably upon the resumption, their challenge steeled by the play of Sean O’Donoughue, Cormac Sheehan, Len Murphy, Kevin Crowley and O’Connor.

Five consecutive points to Diarmuid Fraser, John O’Mahony and Paul O’Connor pushed Millstreet into the driving seat. Dromtariffe fought courageously during the closing stages, points to Darren O’Connor and Stephen Corbett cut the leeway yet not enough to halt Millstreet from collecting the Hallahan Memorial Cup.

The article comes from the Corkman newspaper

1 thought on “U16 Hurlers win Duhallow Crown”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.