Local Election Boundary Changes

The Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee’s report on the redrawing of Local Electoral Area boundaries was published last night. Millstreet has been in the Kanturk-Mallow Municipal District, but is now looks set to change into the Macroom-Blarney District.

The Electoral Divisions of Caherbarnagh, Coomlogane, and Drishane are the ones that will move to the Macroom District, with Cullen, Dromtarriffe, Rathcoole and Kilcorney  remaining in the Kanturk District.

No matter where they put us, we are out on a limb, but does this mean we are back in Muskerry which Millstreet always was in the past? 😉

The full Boundary Commission Report is on the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government website

Boundary chiefs urge two new councils (Irish Examiner)

Anger at Revised Electoral Areas (the Irish Examiner) – “… since the founding of the council in 1898, Millstreet has been in the Northern Division … the council has made a submission to the Local Electoral Boundary COmmission opposing any transfer of the Duhallow area from the Kanturk municipal district…”

Councillors express concerns over proposed Mallow/Kanturk area boundary change (the Corkman)



Map of West Muskerry:





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.