Death Notice: Sr. Emilie Nagle, Infant Jesus Sister

"Sr Emilie Nagle’s ability to laugh brought joy to the hearts of many"
“Sr Emilie Nagle’s ability to laugh brought joy to the hearts of many”

The death has occurred of Sr. Emilie NAGLE, Cork City, Cork / Headford, Kerry

Nagle (Cork and Gortdarrig, Headford, Co. Kerry) on April 16th 2016 peacefully at St. Joseph’s Convent, Model Farm Road. Sr. Emilie, Infant Jesus Sisters. Sadly missed by her community, sisters in-law Nellie and Joan, nieces, nephews, extended family, staff at St. Joseph’s and friends.

Reception prayers at 5pm on Monday in the Church of the Holy Spirit, Dennehy’s Cross. Requiem Mass at 11am on Tuesday. Funeral afterwards to the Convent Plot, Drishane Cemetery, Millstreet.

May she rest in peace.

Stretcher Race Today for Linda’s Magnificent Project in Sri Lanka

The wonderfully creative advertisement for today's much anticipated event at "The Bush Bar" Millstreet in aid of Linda O'Mahony's inspiring volunteering work abroad in April 2016. Every success. Click on the images to enlarge. (S.R.)
Artist Supreme, Brian O’Leary‘s wonderfully creative promotion for today’s much anticipated event at “The Bush Bar” Millstreet in aid of Linda O’Mahony’s inspiring volunteering work abroad in 2016. Every success. Click on the images to enlarge. (S.R.)


Updated: some photos and videos of the event have been added below:
[read more …] “Stretcher Race Today for Linda’s Magnificent Project in Sri Lanka”

County Football Champions 1990 & 1991

The Duhallow Senior Football Team 1990-1991 which won consecutive Cork Senior Football Titles. The photo is taken in Millstreet Town Park, and included are Millstreet players:

Back row: Niall Kelleher, Gerry O’Sullivan (trainer, Dairygold Millstreet)
Middle Row: Liam Dennehy, John Twomey, Anthony Barry, Jerry Pat O’Leary, Matthew Dennehy
Front Row: Diarmuid Driscoll

[Cork GAA]


1990 Duhallow Senior Football Team
County Champions
Captained by Danny Cullotty.
November 4th 1990 was a red letter day for gaelic games here in Duhallow as our divisional senior footballers annexed the cork county senior championship title, and thus bridging a gap of 54,years with a two point victory in a dour struggle over st Finbarr at Pairc Uí Chaoimh.
The 1988 finalists opened their successful campaign with a comprehensive victory 2-18/2-6 over Carrigdhoun, followed up with a 2-11/1-5, triumph over O’Donovan Rossa.
Mighty Nemo Rangers threw down the gauntlet to the barony in the semi final, but Duhallow qualified for the decider with a 4-5/1-9 triumph, goals coming from Anthony Barry, Jimmy Dennehy, Timmy Healy& Richard Dennehy.
The decider against St.Finbarr on a cool November afternoon 30 years ago brought a attendance of 10,979 to Cork GAA headquarters.
And it proved a pretty close affair St Finbarr sailing into a three point lead inside ten minutes but it took a super save from goalie and man of the match Jerry Pat O’Leary midway through the opening half to thwart the city boys. Duhallow had the edge at midfield in the first half through its captain Danny Cullotty and Jerome Walsh, they led 0-4/0-3 at the interval.
Paddy Hayes came well into the game in the second half at midfield for St Finbarr but Duhallow never floundered and with Jerry Pat pulling off a tremendous save, one sensed then was Duhallow day of destiny and when referee Joe O’Leary blew the final whistle scenes of joy and emotion greeted the new county champions on a 0-8/0-6 triumph.
What a moment it was as victorious captain Danny Cullotty held aloft the Andy Scannell trophy.
This most coveted championship was now wresting in Duhallow.
A huge crowd turned out to greet the team in Newmarket on its arrival home after the game and the celebrations continued through out the week with big receptions in Kiskeam, Kanturk, Millstreet & Knocknagree.
This historic victory also saw Danny Culloty become cork s new captain the first Duhallow player to achieve this since Millstreet’s John O’Keeffe in 1949.
And John is still hale and hearty and now resides at Teach Altra nursing home in Newmarket.

Duhallow line out in 1990 county final:
Jerry P O Leary(Millstreet)
Maurice Angland (Kiskeam) Sean Cullotty(Newmarket) Niall Kelleher (Millstreet)
Liam Dennehy( Millstreet) Denis O Connor (Knocknagree) Brendan O Connor (Knocknagree)
Danny Cullotty(Newmarket) (Capt) Jerome Walsh (Kanturk)
Jimmy Dennehy (Kiskeam) (0-2) Richard Dennehy(Kiskeam) Timmy Healy(Kanturk) (0-1)
Donal O Connor(Knocknagree) (0-1) Niall O Connor (Knocknagree) (0-1) Anthony Barry (Millstreet) (0-3)
Noel Moynihan( Ballydesmond) For T Healy.
Martin Dennehy, John Twomey, Diarmuid O Driscoll, (Millstreet), Cormac Linehan, Seamus O Sullivan, (Boharbue), Pat O Connor, Donie Fitzerald, Gerard O Connor(Knocknagree), Liam O Connor(Glenlara), John O Keeffe(Ballydesmond), Seamus Hickey ( Dromtarriffe).
The Victorious Selection Committee Were
John Fintan Daly(Knocknagree(Coach), Joe Murphy(Ballydesmond) Gerard O Sullivan (Kiskeam)
Yes November 4 1990 Is A Day We Will Never Forget In The Annals Of Duhallow Gaa.

In 1991 Duhallow Retained The Title With Another Victory Over St Finbarrs 0-10/0-9
1991 County Final Line Out
J P O Leary
M Angland S Cullotty N Dennehy
L Dennehy (0-1), J Walsh B O Connor
D Cullotty Capt) Patrick Mahony (Knocknagree) (0-2)
Jerry Casey (Rockchapel) A Barry, J Dennehy(0-4)
N O Connor (0-3) John Murphy (Dromtarriffe) D O Connor(0-1)
Sub: R Dennehy for J Murphy.