Munster Senior Camogie Final Winners – Millstreet Community School

Pictured with their Coaches (Gillian Cashman and Barry Fraser) – The Munster Senior Camogie Team from Millstreet Community School – in Doneraile at the match on Saturday, 3rd Dec. 2011. The final score: Millstreet Community School 4 goals 5 points while St. Mary’s, Macroom’s score was 2 goals 3 points.

Sincere thanks to Coach, Barry Fraser for sharing this excellent team picture and the following images of such a wonderfully successful occasion in Doneraile on Saturday.   Heartfelt congratulations to the truly marvellous, talented and superbly energetic members of the Millstreet Community School Team.    (S.R.)

Match Report:

Millstreet Girls Munster Champs!

The Millstreet Community School Senior Camogie panel returned victorious from Doneraile on December 3rd, having overcome the challenge of St. Mary’s, Macroom in a replay.

The previous week’s encounter ended dramatically in a draw with Macroom scoring a late goal to take a 2 point lead, only for Millstreet to hold composure for two final points to level the tie. However, the replay saw Millstreet , captained by Alanna Barry, emerge victorious on a score of 4-5 to 2-3.

The first goal of the match came early in the game from Maire-Ellen O’ Connor, followed by two from Siobhan Sheehan and another from Aideen Buckley. These early goals helped establish Millstreet’s lead, which they maintained for the rest of the match. Macroom never gave up and got two goals on the score board early in the second half but Millstreet pulled away with points from Alanna Barry, Aideen Buckley, Muireann Murphy and Lydia O’ Reilly, closing out the match and becoming Munster Champions.

The hardworking team couldn’t have achieved this title without the help of their trainers Gillian Cashman and Barry Fraser.

Team: Elmarie Cronin, Eimear Twomey, Laura Dennehy, Chelsea Byrne, Jessica Dunne, Anna-jean O’ Reilly, Kelly Murphy, Alanna Barry (0-2), Kayleigh Sheahan, Marie-Ellen O’ Connor (1-0), Muireann Murphy (0-1), Lydia O’ Reilly (0-1), Siobhan Sheehan (2-0) Aideen Buckley (1-1), Leanne Murphy, Ellie Dineen, Niamh Sheehan, Leanne Smyth, Ava Barry, Chloe Collins, Sarah Dennehy, Caroline Murphy, Nadine Scott, Sophie O’Leary.


Caption for team picture: Front row: Ava Barry, Chloe Collins, Siobhan Sheehan, Chelsea Byrne, Jessica Dunne, Leanne Murphy, Maire Ellen O’Connor, Aideen Buckley, Lydia O’Reilly and Captain Alanna Barry. Back row: Gillian Cashman (Coach), Sarah Dennehy, Leanne Smyth, Ellie Dineen, Laura Dennehy, Sophie O’Leary, Kelly Murphy, Elmarie Cronin, Muireann Murphy, Nadine Scott, Niamh Sheahan, AnnaJean O’Reilly, Eimear Twomey, Kayleigh Sheehan and Coach Barry Fraser.

2 thoughts on “Munster Senior Camogie Final Winners – Millstreet Community School”

  1. Best of luck to Alanna Barry and the Cork Minor Camogie team who play Kilkenny tomorrow 7th. April All-Ireland Minor A Camogie Championship Semi-Final at 1pm in Ballyagran

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.