Minor football team land league title

Millstreet gathered a deserved 4-10 to 2-6 victory over Knocknagree in the Duhallow Minor B Football League Final played in Knocknagree.
Despite the lateness of the season, both sides requested the game go ahead. And all credit to the pair who battled through a biting cold wind to serve up an appealing encounter for the enthusiastic attendance present.
At the end of the hour, the sharper and better balanced Millstreet landed the spoils to gather compensation for a county final defeat to Donoughmore a few days previously.
Early on, Knocknagree appeared the more hungrier side and confirmed on shooting a run of points.
Both teams proceeded to miss a plethora of chances before Millstreet’s game got up and running to snatch the initiative thanks to a goal from David McCaul. Knocknagree answered positively and regained the lead temporally thanks on a goal netted.
Matters improved considerably for Millstreet, boosted by the influencial play generated by Darren Sheehan, Darren Murphy, McCaul and Mark Ellis. And Knocknagree were rocked on the concession of two quick fire goals from John Buckley that helped Millstreet to a 3-4 to 1-4 interval advantage.
Knocknagree threw down the gauntlet for the restart and their hopes brightened on a goal. But that was as close as Knocknagree got for Millstreet held key personal in the key departments to sway the outcome.
And Millstreet finished strongly, a run of points was completed by a neatly taken goal from Mark Ellis that effectively wrapped up matters.
Millstreet lined out as Denny Twomey, Dean Desmond, Barry O’Reilly, Conor Lane, Darren Sheehan, Kieran Cotter, David McCaul, Darren Murphy, Brian G Murphy, John Buckley, Mark Ellis, Garry Buicke, Michael Murphy. Sub. Tim Fitzgerald.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.